History of the Bujinkan.

The heritage of the Bujinkan goes back over 900 years. Because the history of the Bujinkan is so deep, this is just a brief overview. More of the complete history is available to learn in the dojo or through history books. The Bujinkan is a world wide Japanese martial arts organization headed by Grandmaster Masaaki Hatsumi. Dr. Hatsumi is the Soke (Grandmaster/head of family) of nine different schools of martial arts, both samurai and ninja. Here is a short documentary video about Toshitsugu Takamatsu Soke, the late teacher to our current Grandmaster, Hatsumi Soke. This video helps put into perspective the nature of our training and the history it is steeped in.

The Bujinkan is comprised of nine ancient martial arts schools that were passed down from generation to generation until they are all passed on to Dr. Masaaki Hatsumi.  Hatsumi Soke has been given special honors by the Emperor of Japan, all U.S. military branches, FBI and CIA, U.S. Homeland Security, and is even the first martial artist in history to receive an Apostolic Blessing by the Vatican.

Below is a list of the nine schools of the Bujinkan and the generation number that Dr. Hatsumi is the Soke of. Also included is the meaning of each school's name, their specialty, and the year they were founded.

Togakure Ryu Ninpo 
34th Grandmaster
Hidden Door School, Ninja school, founded in 1161 AD.

Gyokko Ryu Kosshijutsu 
28th Grandmaster
Jeweled Tiger School, soft tissue and organ attacks, founded officially in 1156 AD, though it's origins date back hundreds of years earlier to Tang Dynasty China, 618-907 AD.

Koto Ryu Koppojutsu 
18th Grandmaster
Knocking Down Tiger School, bone breaking, founded in 1532 AD.

Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu/Jutaijutsu 
26th Grandmaster
Immovable Heart School, striking and grappling, founded 1113 AD.

Kukishin Ryu Taijutsu 
28th Grandmaster
Nine Demon-Gods School, samurai school specializing in naval warfare, long battlefield weapons, and unarmed fighting, founded during the 1330s AD.

Takagiyoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu 
17th Grandmaster
High Tree Raised Heart School, samurai grappling school, founded in 1632.

Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo 
14th Grandmaster
Hiding in the Clouds School, Ninja school, founded in the Tenmon Era 1532-1554.

Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo 
21st Grandmaster
Jeweled Heart School, Ninja school, because of historical record discrepancies, it is not know exactly when this school was founded. It was founded before 1600 AD.

Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu 
15th Grandmaster
Truth, Loyalty, and Justice School, bone breaking school, founded in the Eiroku Era, 1558-1570.

The Bujinkan is an organization through which these nine different schools can be taught. A student in our school starts by learning a core set of basics from all of the schools that provide a strong and lethal foundation from which to build. Each year we also focus on learning the Waza (techniques) from the densho (ancient scrolls) of one of the individual schools.

This is just a brief overview of the Bujinkan's history. Its history is very deep and each of the nine schools has its own history, dating back nearly one thousand years in some cases. Participants have the opportunity to learn it all.

www.facebook.com/livingwarriordojo Visit us on Facebook and like our dojo page!
plus.google.com Our Google+ page.

Living-Warrior Dojo is the only authentic Bujinkan Ninjutsu school in the Treasure Valley. Japanese Marital Arts school serving Meridian, Boise, Kuna, Star, Nampa and surrounding communities with traditional Japanese Martial arts. Bujinkan Meridian, Idaho. Martial Art School Meridian, Idaho.